Day 26

I went out to dinner with the 2 volunteers from my homestay. I’m glad I was able to spend a dinner with them as my time is winding down. It’s definitely one of my highlights of this month. Since there were no kids or teachers at the Jardin or colegio, I had to find different work. In the morning I spent my time making “helados” for tomorrow’s snack. I filled 250+ bags of juice that will be frozen and given as a popsicle. One at the Centro I cleaned a bookshelf, wiped down all the books and organized it. The Centro is right next to the dump so it is very very dusty. This gave me a chance to get some pictures though! Still tough to see. The picture below of the graffiti is a gang mural. I spent the rest of my time babysitting the kids of the moms in the adult program called Creamos. Since I am under the weather, I slept on the bus both ways as I have not been able to sleep at night. It was hot today but as I write this post it has cooled down and begun to rain. The soothing sound it’s making, I hope will put me to sleep.

Sorry this post is late! I was put to sleep!

Leave a comment